Asia no Yoru ~Perfume~

July 21, 2009

[Part One]: My Thoughts On Akuma na Koi

So my 3 copies of Akuma na Koi / NYC [one of each edition] have arrived and I wanted to give my thoughts on Akuma na Koi. Tomorrow I’ll do NYC.

1) Akuma na Koi [Song]: Between Akuma na Koi and NYC, Akuma na Koi is definitely the stronger song. It’s cachier and cooler in my opinion, a very good song to start off with. Is it stronger than Ultra Music Power…I think I have to let some time go by and let it sink in more before making that decision. But as of now, it’s not. Despite it being a good song, one thing bothered me a lot. Did Yuma seriously sing EVERY line in the song? I think he actually sang every single line and on certain ones, the other guys sang alongside him…I know that this group is called Nakayama Yuma w/ B.I. Shadow but this is just ridiculous. Seriously…in their next song, I demand there be more of the other four. It’s not fair that Yuma sings EVERY single line. Other than that blaring annoyance, it’s an enjoyable song. I’ll just picture the others singing when I listen to it on my iPod.

2) Akuma na Koi PV: Even though Yuma totally hogged the spotlight on the song, the PV made me feel better since it was more split among the boys. Basically, Kento’s personality came shining through that video and he really made me happy! I’m sure you all know I love Fuma and he was awesome in this video! He looked awesome and really got into the song. Hokuto looks very comfortable and like he was enjoying himself. Aww, Yuugo’s nervousness just makes him all the more kawaii! Seriously! I know I’m going to love him seeing him gain confidence over time. Umm…Yuma looked kinda scary. Sorry to all of his fans but he just kinda looks scary.

3) Akuma na Koi PV Making: I loved this making of because we got to see the personalities of the boys and that definitely made me love the song even more! First, Fuma and Yuma’s little staring concert was hilarious! It took me a minute to figure out what they were doing because it’s like they were having a conversation and all of the sudden, they broke into a staring concert. Fuma’s expression was priceless!! Other great moments included Fuma’s 3 tries to get his entrance right due to looking the wrong way. haha, that was soo funny! And Yuugo dropped the guitar pick in the guitar and Yuma had to get it out [I loved the 5 minutes later thing]. I never knew it before but Hokuto is HILARIOUS! He and Kento are always so goofy and loveable and they definitely shine in my eyes. How cute was it when they were playing with the ear thing? Their reactions were meccha kawaii! I love how Hokuto is always balancing cups on Yuma. It’s cute. I also love the thumb war that Fuma and Yuma did. When Fuma won, he made a really funny sound. Overall, a definitely awesome making and one that really shows off just how amazing B.I. Shadow is…oh yeah, Yuma too.

4) Akuma na Koi Jacket Shooting: I really enjoyed the jacket shooting for the same reason as I enjoyed the PV making. Their personalities come shining through and you can actually see a lot of the four other boys. First Hokuto was funny when he told the camera person to film below a certain point because he wasn’t dressed. And Kento made me laugh when he said he was done getting dressed only to have forgotten something and had to go back. Hokuto showed off his karate skills and Fuma tried to imitate him only to fail (but cutely and in his eyes, it was perfect hehe). Yuugo had a shirtless moment and covered his chest. I thought Kento’s arm thing that looked like the robot was really cool and impressed me. Kento was distracting Yuma during his photoshoot. Yuma also had a shirtless part during his photoshoot. Personally, I would have rather seen Kento, Fuma and Hokuto do that which is ironic since they were the three not to have it shown. Kento explained the meaning of B.I. Shadow -> the bullies that that group played in Scrap Teacher as if they were lurking in the shadows. Makes sense. Then Fuma does a little thumb trick and is absolutely kawaii! Probably my favorite part of this segment is when Kento speaks in English. He thanks everyone who laughed at the story and says “I love you. I love you. Thank you very much. Okay.” He sounded like a movie star or something! Oh Kento, you’re absolutely hilarious!!

This had to have it’s own section because it’s that awesome. It’s from the Akuma na Koi PV Making. They make their own commericals [how cute is that?!!].

First Commercial: Hokuto is soo cute and his voice is so nice!! Why can’t he have a solo part?! Fuma is just too awesome for words. LOL at Yuugo! He looked so out of it at the end.

Second Commercial: Yuma has a good voice. The angle of the camera made his head look big though hehe. Kento is so cute! Fuma is dreamy and Hokuto is a sweetie. LMAO at Yuugo not saying “Johnny’s Entertainment” so they were whispering to him to say it! He even said it all cool like you would expect the commercial guy to say it! I love his little fighter pose.

So what have we learned today?

+ Kento and Hokuto are HILARIOUS
+ Fuma is my ultimate love!
+ Yuugo is so kawaii and nervous! He will grow! Ganbatte Yuugo!
+ Yuma is…Yuma.

13 Comments »

  1. Akuma na Koi is a very, very nice song. NYC is more of a..you know, a repetitive bubblegum, genki pop song to lift everyone’s spirits. I like both a lot, but Akuma na Koi is definitely the best one of the two.

    As for the singing, I think Yuma does a pretty good job at it. I think the song was meant to be for Yuma in the first place hence he is the main vocal n( remember the song has a drama-tie in, so promoting Yuma is the main priority). However, B.I Shadow’s harmonies with him make it more special. Even though they don’t have solo lines, that doesn’t mean they don’t sing nor contribute anything to the song. And it’s their first song, let’s give them more time, eh? I’m even inclined to believe they are still, you know…a temporary collaboration of sorts instead of a full debuted group.

    Let’s cut Yuma some slack, the lad is not bad and it seems to me like he is so shy and still shaken by the whole thing 😄 ( B.I Shadow boys seem more comfortable than him, lmao )

    And Yuugo is great, I want to tie a support!Yuugo bandana around my head and strut all over the place ❤

    Comment by Bell — July 21, 2009 @ 5:15 pm | Reply

    • Yeah agreed. NYC kinda bothers me when I listen to it…I’ll explain in a different post but I can listen to Akuma na Koi much more easily 😄

      Yeah…I guess…but like Kento’s in the drama too and it feels like nobody even cares…I just have a problem with the others being like background singers to him. It’s really unsettling…I’m pretty sure they are a new debuted group but I guess we’ll have to see…

      I think I would like Yuma a lot more if the spotlight wasn’t so much on him, which totally isn’t his fault but…he is still kinda shy. I think Kento and Fuma (maybe even Hokuto) have the most confidence and it really shines through!

      hahaha, that Yuugo! He’s soo cute that you can’t help but love him 😄

      Comment by amaiyume — July 21, 2009 @ 8:23 pm | Reply

  2. doesn’t yuma getting the guitar pick out of the guitar remind you of that game operation. like i kept expecting the guitar to buzz red.
    but yeah, he’s totally line hoging right now but i expect as the other guys become more popular and well known they’ll get more lines. although to me that reveals a fatal flaw in the name of the group…what if in like a year no one cares about yuma…

    dude. it. is. those. eyebrows. i remember the first time i saw yuma i was like whoa O_O i don’t think he’s ugly or anything and infact i think he’s quite handsome but he definitely looks scary. like he’s almost certainly going to murder me. but i digress…definitely the eyebrows.

    Comment by brandon — July 21, 2009 @ 5:32 pm | Reply

    • hahaha, yeah it is like Operation!!! LMAO, then they can change the name to B.I. Shadow! Except that would be kinda weird…but I’m sure Johnny will keep pushing him like Yamada so that he won’t face into obscurity…

      hehehe, I agree with you! I don’t think he’s ugly. He can be very attractive sometimes but he just looks frightening sometimes…

      Comment by amaiyume — July 21, 2009 @ 8:25 pm | Reply

      • i think b.i. shadow is better in the long run. in 10 years when they’re 20+ how will they feel about the name yuma w/ b.i. shadow.

        Comment by brandon — July 22, 2009 @ 2:37 am

  3. I’ve watch Koishite Akuma
    although it was only the first episode..
    it was nice
    looking forward to watch the further episodes!

    Comment by Kaname Fujiwara — July 22, 2009 @ 2:19 am | Reply

    • Me too!
      I’ve only watched the half of the first episode but it looks really good!
      Yay for kento!! 😄

      Comment by amaiyume — July 22, 2009 @ 2:52 am | Reply

  4. @brandon: That’s true…I wonder how his old group Nakayama Yuma w/ Hey! Say! West felt about it…now I guess they’re just Hey! Say! West.

    B.I. Shadow would be a good change…I guess we’ll have to wait 🙂

    Comment by amaiyume — July 22, 2009 @ 2:53 am | Reply

  5. Akuma no Koi is WAY better than NYC!! Mostly because it’s not a typical debut song. It’s not too cheerful with lots of [sometimes annoying] random, cheesy english lyrics. (Seriously? “We love all the world”???) For me, I think it’s better than Ultra Music Power because…well, UMP is a bit of a typical debut song. :/ It’s my least favorite HSJ song, but I still love it!

    Well, uhhmm…Yuma didn’t sing the “Just give me your smile” parts…:/ But other than that, yes, he sang every lyric. Out of FIVE members, only the guy who gets like 99% of the attention, even in another group, gets to sing by himself. Wow. That’s stupid and low, even for a Johnny debut. (NEWs- Mostly Yamapi, KAT-TUN – Only Jin and Kame got solos…etc.) I really hate it, because I love everyone’s voices (Well, except Yuugo, because I have no idea what he sounds like [I wonder why -.-], even though I’m sure he has a nice voice.)

    I can’t comment on the Akuma no Koi making because I can’t find it. It’s either deleted, removed, and such. Plus I can’t even download it cause of my stupid computer. ): Hope I can watch it soon~

    But the shooting was really, really fun! I don’t even mind Yuma getting most of the cameratime cause you still got to see the other four a lot! (: The “Y” trick was awesome, Yuugo seemed to be more confident, Yuma didn’t look very scary, and Kento was just so hilarious. And that was my favorite part too! “To all the people who laughed at that joke – I love you. I love you. Thank you very much. Okay.” xD I replayed it sooo many times. Especially since it was in English! Nice pronunciation and he doesn’t have a heavy accent. Actually, it’s pretty nice. Now I just want him to learn it.

    Blah, the CM got deleted :/ I wanna watch it so much!! Why are all the videos goneeeeee now? D: [ sigh ] Bleh.

    anyway, even though I know you like super long comments, this might have been a bit too long =P sorry! ~ but they’re just so adorable, I couldn’t help it xD

    Comment by aliceeinwonderland — July 26, 2009 @ 1:10 am | Reply

  6. Completely agree!! Akuma na Koi is the cool song that surprises you and isn’t one of those typical happy debut songs. I also agree with you that Ultra Music Power is my least favorite single. Each single of theirs was better than the last 🙂

    That really pissed me off…when I was listening to it without watching the video and knew who sang, I thought Fuma and Kento sang together at some parts without Yuma…guess not.

    I hope you find it soon!! It’s much better than the NYC Making and I laughed a lot 😄

    Kento is friggin hilarious!! I’m already waiting for something new from them so I can laugh at more funny things he says!!! And Fuma is sooo loveable and sweet!! He’s amazing!! Yuugo is funny like getting the thing stuck in the guitar! Oh Yuugo. And plus I like that Yuma feels closer to his group in this making than he was in the other because in the NYC Making, it felt like he was just hanging out with Yama-chan and Chii, leaving the other 4 to themselves…and of course, that was TOTALLY the best part! His English is awesome!

    I hope someone uploads it again for you! I enjoyed them 🙂
    I’m sure they’ll pop up soon!

    haha, no it was good! I love long comments like this!! Hurray!!

    Comment by amaiyume — July 26, 2009 @ 2:43 am | Reply

  7. Oh, blah. It took almost two months for me to watch Akuma no Koi making. But I’m happy I got to watch it 😀

    Hokuto, Fuma, and Kento killed me with their coolness/cuteness today. I couldn’t stop watching it over and over again.
    Yuma scared me…)= It’s his eyebrows, but I’m sure he’s a nice guy.

    I just felt like commenting here because I’m so happy I got to watch it! Haha. You can ignore this comment ;]

    Comment by aliceeinwonderland — August 21, 2009 @ 3:39 am | Reply

    • yay!! I’m glad you got to see it!!!
      Aren’t they like the best ever??!!! Hilarious!!
      LOL, I think they look better in person than in pictures though 😄

      Yay!!! I’m glad for you!!

      Comment by amaiyume — August 21, 2009 @ 4:52 am | Reply

  8. Thanks for the quick Blog! ❤
    Seems you don't like Yuma that well do you lol xD
    I personally think he's okay ^^ I mean for a newcomer, he's doing pretty well in acting. And Oh, yeah I LOVE his voice though. It just kinda shocked me. I never thought he would have that kinda voice the moment I saw him, I didn't even know he was that young.
    Anyways thanks for the quick review.

    Comment by Kazu-chan — October 25, 2009 @ 5:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

